Vuelta A Espana 2019: Philippe Gilbert Soloes To Stage 12 Win

Vuelta a Espana 2019: Philippe Gilbert soloes to Stage 12 win

Joseph Delves 5 Sep 2019 Gilbert denies Aranburu and Barceló in an unexpectedly quiet day for the GC Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-QuickStep) won Stage 12 of the 2019 Vuelta a Espana ahead of fellow breakaway escapees Alexander Aranburu (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Fernando Barceló (Euskadi-Murias), while behind them GC race stayed largely unaffected. Belgium's Gilbert won the 171km stage from Circuito de Navarra to Bilbao by just three seconds in the end, holding off the Spanish duo on the rapid descent to the finish after breaking clear towards the top of the late 3rd category climb of the Alto de Arraiz, which they crested inside 8km of the finish. Movistar's Marc Soler led the peloton in 3 minutes later, with all the main GC contenders safely together. How the stage unfolded With a climb towards the beginning of the stage, it wasn’t until afterwards that riders started getting away. Despite the ...

Read on Cyclist

More Like This

No similar articles :(