Vuelta A Espana 2018: Dennis Wins Race Against Clock As Yates Extends Lead

Vuelta a Espana 2018: Dennis wins race against clock as Yates extends lead

Joe Robinson 11 Sep 2018 Yates extends lead to 33 seconds with just one week left of racing BMC Racing's Rohan Dennis took an expected victory in the Stage 16 time trial to Torrelavega as Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) extended his Vuelta a Espana lead. Yates managed to finish seven seconds ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) extending his overall lead to 33 seconds after a measured performance across the 32km course. The day's big loser was Nairo Quintana (Movistar), who not only lost time to Yates but also found himself booted from the podium by a flying Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo). Dennis took the race spoils, managing to ride a negative split which left him 50 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. This provided the Australian with his second victory at this year's Vuelta having already snatched the Stage 1 time trial. For Yates, he will now look to defend ...

Read on Cyclist

More Like This

No similar articles :(