Roth Wins Canadian Criterium Title

L to r: Robin Plamondon, Ryan Roth, Pierre Andre Cote

The Canadian Road Nationals concluded, appropriately, on July 1st Canada Day, with the criterium. Ryan Roth (X-Speed United) took the elite men's title for the new Continental squad, X-Speed United. The 1.3-kilometre circuit was a four left turn rectangle, with the most prominent feature the final 200-metre climb to the finish line. Constant attacks in the opening laps of the men's race quickly whittled the field down, with only 25 of 119 starters finishing after 60 minutes (plus three laps) of racing. Evan Burtnik (X-Speed United) and Robin Plamondon (Floyd's Pro Cycling) were the first to make a break stick at the halfway point in the race, and they were joined by Charles Etienne Chretien (Equipe du Quebec) and Derek Gee (Toronto Velodrome Club). Finally, Roth, Pierre Andre Cote (Rally UHC) and Alex Cowan (Floyd's Pro Cycling) jumped across to make up the rest of the group. With the major ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(