No Room For Gilbert As Viviani And Alaphilippe Lead Deceuninck-Quickstep At Tour De France

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step) on the Dauphine podium after winning stage 6

Elia Viviani, Julian Alaphilippe and Enric Mas all feature in the Deceuninck-QuickStep squad for the Tour de France but there is no place for Paris-Roubaix winner Philippe Gilbert , who misses out on selection for the eight-rider Belgian team. Viviani will have four riders dedicated to leading him out in the sprints: Yves Lampaert, Michael Mørkøv, Max Richeze and promising debutant Kasper Asgreen. Mas, who placed second at last year’s Vuelta a España, will have Dries Devenyns for support on his Tour debut. "He’s our GC guy, but at the same time, this is his Tour de France debut and while he proved in the Vuelta that he can maintain his condition for three weeks, this is the Tour and it’s about learning," directeur sportif Tom Steels said of Mas, who took ninth at the recent Tour de Suisse. "It is hard to explain what this race is until you ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(