Lampaert wins Belgian national road race

Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors) and teammate Philippe Gilbert 1-2, Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)

Quick-Step Floors' Yves Lampaert became the Belgian road race national champion on Sunday, ahead of teammate and two-time national champion Philippe Gilbert , with Trek-Segafredo's Jasper Stuyven finishing third. Lampaert, who's won the last two editions of Dwars door Vlaanderen , felt very much at home on the Classics-style national championship course in Binche, Wallonia, with its multiple cobbled sectors on each lap of the 223.6km race. Lampaert and Gilbert attacked on the final 17.6km circuit, and their lead group included EF Education First-Drapac's Sep Vanmarcke, Stuyven and a third Quick-Step rider in Pieter Serry, who would eventually finish fourth. Gilbert and 27-year-old Lampaert, who also finished third in Thursday's Belgian time trial national championships , having won that title last year, took it in turns to attack their rivals, and only Stuyven was capable of keeping in touch. Lampaert made the decisive move with just over three kilometres left ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(