Dennis, Matthews, Spratt and Kennedy selected by Australia for Yorkshire road Worlds

Rohan Dennis (Australia)

Cycling Australia have announced their elite men's and women's squads for this year's UCI Road World Championships , which take place in Yorkshire, in the UK, from September 22-29. Among them are defending time trial world champion Rohan Dennis ( Bahrain-Merida ) and 2015 Worlds road-race silver medallist Michael Matthews ( Sunweb ), while Mitchelton-Scott 's Amanda Spratt – second at last year's Worlds road race – and last Saturday's Clasica San Sebastian winner Lucy Kennedy headline the women's squad. Dennis is yet to race again since quitting the Tour de France last month, a day ahead of the Tour's only individual time trial, for which he would have been one of the favourites, while Matthews was controversially overlooked for selection for last year's Worlds. Spratt and Kennedy, meanwhile, are just two of four Mitchelton-Scott riders selected for the seven-rider elite women's squad, which also includes Canyon-SRAM's Tiffany Cromwell and ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(