Chris Froome to be named winner of 2011 Vuelta a Espana

Juan José Cobo shakes Braley Wiggins' hand on the podium

Chris Froome ( Team Ineos ) will now be named as the winner of the 2011 Vuelta a España , according to reports from Spanish newspaper AS , after Juan José Cobo – who was crowned the winner of the race in September 2011 – apparently chose not to appeal against cycling governing body the UCI's announcement last month that Cobo was "guilty of an anti-doping rule violation". The now-retired Spanish rider, riding then for Geox-TMC, beat Froome by just 13 seconds, with Froome's then Team Sky teammate Bradley Wiggins taking third place, 1:39 down on Cobo. But on June 13, 2019, the UCI announced that Cobo was "guilty of an anti-doping rule violation (use of a prohibited substance) based on abnormalities from 2009 and 2011 detected in his Biological Passport and [the UCI has] imposed a three-year period of ineligibility on the rider". Cobo was given a month to ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(