Astana confirm 10 changes for 2019 roster

Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) in white at the Vuelta a Espana

The Astana team has confirmed 10 riders will leave the Kazakhstan-funded WorldTour team, with nine new riders joining for 2019, including Ion and Gorka Izagirre and Manuele Boaro (from Bahrain-Merida), Merhawi Kudus (Dimension Data), Davide Ballerini (Androni Giocattoli) and Colombia's Hernando Bohorquez (Manzana-Postobon). Astana lost its status as a Grand Tour contender after Vincenzo Nibali and Fabio Aru moved on in 2017 and 2018 but Miguel Angel Lopez showed his promise with his third place at both the Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a Espana. In 2019 he will again alternate stage race leadership with Jakob Fuglsang and the Izagirre brothers. Astana is expected to have a 29-rider roster, with Luis Leon Sanchez, Dario Cataldo, Omar Fraile, sprinter Magnus Cort, Davide Villela and Alexey Lutsenko forming the eclectic backbone of the team. Michael Valgren led Astana's Classics squad in 2017 and 2018, winning Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and the Amstel Gold Race ...

Read on Cycling News

More Like This

No similar articles :(